Diagnostics

The AI platform BIOMETRICA, developed by jung diagnostics and certified as a medical device, analyses radiological data, quantifies the relevant diagnostic parameters and creates a structured radiological report proposal.

BIOMETRICA standardizes the quality of radiological reporting at a high level, independent of the radiologist, and accelerates the reporting process. This saves valuable time of a radiologist.

Free trial

We look forward to hearing from you either via contact form or phone.

BIOMETRICA is being continuously expanded. Currently the following clinical applications are supported:

  • assessment of suspected dementia
  • assessment of suspected multiple sclerosis (MS)
  • MS follow-up assessment

For this purpose, the following diagnostic parameters are quantified, quality-assured and provided as a biomarker report:

  • lesion quantification and localization
  • disease-related loss of brain volume (atrophy)

Additionally a structured radiological report proposal is delivered.

The technologies for computer-aided quantification were validated in extensive clinical studies and published in high-ranking scientific and clinical journals. An overview of our publications can be found on the page clinical research.

BIOMETRICA reports consist - depending on the clinical application - of information on different biomarkers:

T2 and contrast enhancing T1 lesions

Not only the total number and volume of T2 lesions and the number of contrast-enhancing T1 lesions are reported, but also the localization of the lesions is specified in four categories (juxtacortical, periventricular, deep white matter, infratentorial).

Lesion evaluation

T2 lesion activity (new or enlarged T2 lesions)

If there is a preliminary examination, lesions are also listed which have newly arisen or have developed since the preliminary examination significantly enlarged. The T2 lesion activity is also broken down with respect to localization.

To simplify the assessment, all new/enlarged T2 lesions are shown in direct before/after comparison.

Display of all new and enlarged lesions compared to the previous examination

Brain volume loss rate

Once qualified 3D T1 sequences of at least two examinations are available, the brain volume loss rate is calculated. The individual brain volume loss rate is compared against brain volume loss rates of a cohort of healthy subjects in relation to age. The biological variations that are important for a decision are estimated by a confidence interval.

.

This enables the reliable differentiation between age-related and disease-related brain volume loss in the individual patient [1][2][3].

Brain volume change - comparison with the preliminary examination

Regional brain volume loss

Especially for the early diagnosis or exclusion of Alzheimer's dementia, the volume of the hippocampus is indicative [4]. Therefore, the hippocampal volume is indicated separately, including comparison with the normative database corrected for age and head size.

.
Volume of the hippocampus

Focal brain volume loss

To identify focal brain atrophy we use the method of voxel-based morphometry, in which a comparison with a normative database is made for each pixel. This enables a very detailed overview of atrophic brain structures and is therefore particularly suitable for dementia differential diagnosis [5].

Areas with reduced grey matter highlighted in colour

[1] Opfer R, Ostwaldt AC, Sormani MP, Gocke C, Walker-Egger C, Panogaran M, De Stefano N, Schippling S (2018) Estimates of age-dependent cut-offs for pathological brain volume loss using SIENA/FSL – A longitudinal brain volumetry study in healthy adults. Neurobiol. Aging 65:1-6. PubMed

[2] Opfer R, Ostwaldt AC, Walker-Egger C, Panogaran M, Sormani MP, De Stefano N, Schippling S (2018) Within patient fluctuation of brain volume estimates from shortterm repeated MRI measurements using SIENA/FSL. J Neurol. 265:1158-1165. PubMed

[3] Narayanan S, Nakamura K, Fonov VS et al. (2020) Brain volume loss in individuals over time: Source of variance and limits of detectability. doi:10.1016/j.neuroimage.2020.116737 PubMed

[4] Suppa P, Hampel H, Spies L, Fiebach J, Dubois B und Buchert R (2015) Fully automated atlas-based hippocampal volumetry for clinical routine: validation in subjects with mild cognitive impairment from the ADNI cohort. J Alzheimers Dis. 46:199–209. PubMed

[5] Hedderich DM, Dieckmeyer M, Andrisan T, et al. (2020) Normative brain volume reports may improve differential diagnosis of dementing neurodegenerative diseases in clinical practice. Eur Radiol. 2020;10.1007/s00330-019-06602-0. PubMed

Diagnostik

Die von jung diagnostics entwickelte und als Medizinprodukt zertifizierte KI-Plattform BIOMETRICA analysiert radiologische Daten, quantifiziert die für die Fragestellung relevanten Befundungsparameter und erstellt auf dieser Grundlage einen strukturierten Befundvorschlag.

Damit wird die Befundungsqualität unabhängig vom befundenden Arzt auf hohem Niveau standardisiert und der Befundungsprozess beschleunigt. Die Radiologie spart dadurch wertvolle Zeit.

Kostenlos testen

Wir freuen uns über Ihre Nachricht oder Ihren Anruf.

BIOMETRICA wird kontinuierlich erweitert. Aktuell werden folgende Fragestellungen unterstützt:

  • Abklärung Demenzverdacht
  • Abklärung Multiple Sklerose (MS)-Verdacht
  • MS-Verlaufsuntersuchung

Dazu werden folgende Befundungsparameter computergestützt quantifiziert und qualitätsgesichert im Rahmen eines Biomarker-Reports und zusätzlich eines strukturierten Befundvorschlags ausgeliefert:

  • Läsionsquantifizierung und -lokalisierung
  • Krankheitsbedingter Hirnvolumenverlust (Atrophie)
Die Technologien zur computergestützten Quantifzierung wurden in umfangreichen klinischen Studien validiert und in hochrangigen wissenschaftlich-klinischen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht. Einen Überblick über unsere Publikationen finden Sie auf der Seite Klinische Forschung.

BIOMETRICA-Berichte setzen sich - je nach Fragestellung - aus Angaben zu unterschiedlichen Biomarkern zusammen:

T2- und kontrastanreichernde T1-Läsionen

Es wird nicht nur die Gesamtzahl und das Gesamtvolumen der gefundenen T2-Läsionen, sowie die Anzahl der kontrastanreichernden T1-Läsionen berichtet, sondern darüber hinaus auch die Lokalisation der gefundenen Läsionen in vier Kategorien spezifiziert (juxtakortikal, periventrikulär, tiefe weiße Substanz, infratentoriell).

Läsionsevaluation

T2-Läsionsaktivität (neue und vergrößerte T2-Läsionen)

Falls eine Voruntersuchung vorliegt, werden außerdem Läsionen aufgeführt, die seit der Voruntersuchung neu entstanden sind oder sich signifikant vergrößert haben. Auch die T2-Läsionsaktivität wird bzgl der Lokalisation aufgeschlüsselt.

Um die Beurteilung zu vereinfachen, werden alle neuen/vergrößerten T2-Läsionen im direkten Vorher-Nachher-Vergleich gezeigt.

Darstellung aller neuen und vergrößerten Läsionen im Vergleich zur Voruntersuchung

Hirnvolumenverlustrate

Sobald qualifizierte 3D-T1-Sequenzen von mindestens zwei Untersuchungen vorliegen, wird die Hirnvolumenverlustrate berechnet.

Die individuelle Hirnvolumenverlustrate wird gegen Hirnvolumenverlustraten von einer Kohorte aus gesunden Probanden altersbezogen verglichen. Die für eine Entscheidung wichtigen biologischen Schwankungen werden durch ein Konfidenzintervall abgeschätzt.

Dies ermöglicht die sichere Unterscheidung von altersbedingtem und krankheitsbedingtem Hirnvolumenverlust im individuellen Patienten [1][2][3].

Hirnvolumenveränderung - Vergleich mit der Voruntersuchung

Regionaler Hirnvolumenverlust

Besonders für die Früherkennung oder den Ausschluß einer Alzheimer-Demenz kann das Volumen des Hippokampus indikativ sein [4]. Daher wird das Hippokampusvolumen gesondert angegeben, inklusive des Vergleichs mit dem auf Alter und Kopfgröße korrigierten Normalkollektiv.

Volumen des Hippokampus

Fokaler Hirnvolumenverlust

Zur Identifikation von fokaler Hirnatrophie nutzen wir das Verfahren der voxel-basierten Morphometrie, bei dem für jeden Bildpunkt ein Vergleich mit einem Scanner-spezifischen Normalkollektiv angestellt wird. Das ermöglicht einen sehr detaillierten Überblick über atrophe Hirnstrukturen und eignet sich daher besonders für die dementielle Differentialdiagnose [5].

Areale mit verringerter grauer Substanz farblich hervorgehoben

[1] Opfer R, Ostwaldt AC, Sormani MP, Gocke C, Walker-Egger C, Panogaran M, De Stefano N, Schippling S (2018) Estimates of age-dependent cut-offs for pathological brain volume loss using SIENA/FSL – A longitudinal brain volumetry study in healthy adults. Neurobiol. Aging 65:1-6. PubMed

[2] Opfer R, Ostwaldt AC, Walker-Egger C, Panogaran M, Sormani MP, De Stefano N, Schippling S (2018) Within patient fluctuation of brain volume estimates from shortterm repeated MRI measurements using SIENA/FSL. J Neurol. 265:1158-1165. PubMed

[3] Narayanan S, Nakamura K, Fonov VS et al. (2020) Brain volume loss in individuals over time: Source of variance and limits of detectability. doi:10.1016/j.neuroimage.2020.116737 PubMed

[4] Suppa P, Hampel H, Spies L, Fiebach J, Dubois B und Buchert R (2015) Fully automated atlas-based hippocampal volumetry for clinical routine: validation in subjects with mild cognitive impairment from the ADNI cohort. J Alzheimers Dis. 46:199–209. PubMed

[5] Hedderich DM, Dieckmeyer M, Andrisan T, et al. (2020) Normative brain volume reports may improve differential diagnosis of dementing neurodegenerative diseases in clinical practice. Eur Radiol. 2020;10.1007/s00330-019-06602-0. PubMed